Skip to content

A Song For The New Year

December 30, 2011

 

Yes. I know the New Year isn’t quite here yet. I’m just getting giving you a little background music to help you get ready. Though this song isn’t technically about food, it most certainly says a lot about my childhood. This was one of my very favorite songs growing up. My mother used to play it for me and sing to me as we listened. I didn’t realize until recently that the reason why I had such a hard time tracking this song down is because it was a song from a movie Sabah starred in and not one from an album. Apparently the scene in the movie is Sabah singing this song to her daughter which would, in turn, explain why my mama liked singing it to me.

The title “Aklek Menain Ya Batta”  very roughly translates to “You are so adorable. I just wanna eat you up!” Batta in Arabic translates to duck and is also used as a term of endearment. I loved the song so much because of the “quacks” you hear in the background. Hearing it again after all these years just makes me smile and it also really makes me miss my mother.

I’m excited to get back to cooking out there and writing here. Not all my posts will be recipe-related but I’ll try to keep them relevant to the memories and the food of my youth. In the meantime, enjoy a little music from the past and have yourselves a very HAPPY New Year!

Sahtein!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    January 24, 2012 3:07 am

    I stumbled across your website while looking for Arabic food recipes. My own mother died of cancer almost a year ago and I understand how difficult it is. This is a very nice way to remember her. Thank you.

    • BrigitteZ permalink*
      January 25, 2012 7:08 pm

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read and share your story, Jessica. I’m so,so sorry for your loss. Working on this site and learning how to cook has really helped me keep my mother’s memory alive in my heart. I’m blessed that it provides even the littlest bit of comfort to others, too.

Leave a Reply

